Welsh Affairs Committee Select Committee Announcement For Immediate Release:  17 October 2013

Evidence session

Energy generation in Wales: Shale Gas

The Welsh Affairs Committee will hold its first evidence session on Shale Gas in Wales on Tuesday 22 October at 10.00 am. The Committee will take evidence from academics and environmental groups. 

Shale gas is natural gas (predominately methane) found in shale rocks. Advances in technology -; notably hydraulic fracturing or ‘fracking’ – over the last decade have made shale gas development economically viable. Planning permission has been given at a number of sites in Wales for exploratory drilling for shale gas. Further planning permission would be required for a full-scale extraction process.

The Committee will examine the potential for shale gas exploration and commercial level extraction in Wales. It will also explore the environmental and economic impact of shale gas and whether the current regulatory regime covering such activity is adequate.

Evidence session details: 

Date:  Tuesday 22 October 2013

Time:  10.00 am

Location: Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Witnesses:   10.00am·         Professor Hywel Thomas, Royal Society and Royal Academy of Engineering (Cardiff University)·         Professor Richard Davies, Durham University ·         Professor Kevin Anderson, Deputy Director, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research 10.45am ·         Trefor Owen, Executive Director for National Services, Natural Resources Wales, ·         Gareth Clubb, Director, Friends of the Earth Cymru·         Nick Molho, Head of Policy, Climate and Energy, WWF 

This session will be televised.

This evidence session is open to the public and press, all are welcome to attend. The venue is fully accessible. There is no need to reserve a place but if you would like more information please contact the Committee on 020 7219 6189 orwelshcom@parliament.uk

FURTHER INFORMATION: This is the first in a series of inquiries that the Committee will hold into energy generation in Wales during this Parliament. Committee Membership is as follows: David T. C. Davies MP (Chair), Glyn Davies MP, Guto Bebb MP, Geraint Davies MP, Stephen Doughty MP, Jonathan Edwards MP, Nia Griffith MP, Simon Hart MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Karen Lumley MP, Jessica Morden MP, and Mr Mark Williams MP Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189 Media Information: Jessica Bridges-Palmer bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk tel: 020 7219 0724 

Committee Websitehttp://www.parliament.uk/welshcom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv   

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the House of Parliament Shop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk.

You can follow us on Twitter @CommonsWelshAff

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search